Latest News

Latest News

Date Posted: Apr 4, 2016
International Workers Memorial Day will be held Saturday 23rd April 2016 at 11.00am,Truth and Justice Square at the Internal Asbestos Memorial.  After the ceremony tea and coffee will be provided by Provost Douglas McAllister in Clydebank Town Hall.

Date Posted: Jul 23, 2015
After more than a decade during which we had to suffer setbacks and frustration, while at the same time having to raise many thousands of pounds from individuals and organisations from all over the world, the memorial has at last been completed.

Date Posted: Jun 6, 2012
On 2 June 2012, Clydebank Asbestos Group were the recipients of THE QUEEN’S AWARD for VOLUNTARY SERVICE.

Date Posted: Apr 13, 2012
The Clydebank Asbestos Group are delighted on the honour bestowed on our chairperson, Bob Dickie, who received the award of Clydebank’s Citizen of the year.

Date Posted: Dec 1, 2011

On behalf of the Group, I would wish to put on record our kindest thanks to Provost Dennis Agnew of West Dunbartonshire Council, his colleagues, known as the Waterfront Councillors, Marie McNair, Gail Casey, Jim Brown and Willie Hendry.

Date Posted: Nov 14, 2011
This last week has been highly significant in respect of the Clydebank Asbestos Group.

As is our usual way of working, we request those who have asbestos related problems to get in contact.  If they are able, we make an appointment for them to come to the office.  If the situation is more serious, we will make home visits, and if need be do hospital visits.

Date Posted: Aug 15, 2011


The Annual General Meeting of the Group will be held on Saturday 10 September in Abbotsford Parish Church, Abbotsford Road, Clydebank at 10a.m.

Date Posted: May 11, 2011
Following the recent Scottish Parliament elections, on behalf of the Clydebank Asbestos Group, I would congratulate Gil Patterson in him having won the Clydebank/Milngavie constituency.

Date Posted: Mar 30, 2011
Thompsons are delighted to announce they have won yet another top legal award.  At the recent Scottish Legal Awards Gala Ceremony they were honoured to win the highest accolade of the evening, the Law Firm of the Year

Date Posted: Jan 13, 2011

Dear all, 2010 saw many advancements in bringing the memorial project to fruition. Design plans were finalised, the site assessed by the engineers, planning permission granted, lighting designed and a myriad of other small but important details attended to.

Date Posted: Dec 3, 2010
Dear Lyn

Received your E-mail today re your father having been diagnosed with Mesothelioma.

Unfortunately, you did not give your contact details on the submission form on the website, which meant that when replying to you, this reply was returned to our own E-mails.

Date Posted: Nov 29, 2010
On Friday 19 November, Dennis Agnew, The Provost of West Dunbartonshire Council, gave a Civic Reception in the Clydebank Town Hall in recognition of the role that the Clydebank Asbestos Group has played in the community over the past 18 years.

Date Posted: Oct 22, 2010
Following the Trigger Litigation Briefing, this statement was issued by Clydebank Asbestos Group.

"Clydebank Asbestos Group, in common with the National forum, other victims support groups and campaigners, is deeply disturbed by the above ruling.  It appears that once again the courts have came out in favour of the employers and their insurers, to the detriment of the victims of asbestos exposure.

Date Posted: Oct 21, 2010
Campaigning lawyer Frank Maguire of Thompsons Solicitors who works closely with Clydebank Asbestos Group has won the prestigious Solicitor of the Year Title after years of fighting for the rights of local asbestos victims.

Date Posted: Sep 17, 2010
The Annual General Meeting of the group was held on Saturday 11 September 2010 in Clydebank Town Hall.

Date Posted: Aug 13, 2010
It is with deep regret that we have received news of the death of Jimmy Reid.

Date Posted: Jul 15, 2010

Bob Dickie, Chairman of Clydebank Asbestos Group provides International Workers Memorial Update.

Date Posted: May 24, 2010
Gemma Doyle was elected as the Member of Parliament for the newly named constituency of Dunbartonshire West at the recent General Election.

Date Posted: Apr 27, 2010
John  McFall retired as MP for the West Dunbartonshire constituency at the dissolution of the present parliament on 12 April 2010.

Date Posted: Mar 3, 2010
Thompsons Solicitors who represent Clydebank Asbestos Group clients has chalked up its third major success in a row.

Date Posted: Mar 3, 2010

It is with regret that the Group has heard of the death of Charlie Marshall.

Date Posted: Feb 8, 2010
International Workers Memorial

Date Posted: Dec 30, 2009
Group represented by Joan Baird

Back to Home Page